Alone as I Write

Since I started my Walking With Anxiety blog and twitter work, I have felt a lot more in tune with myself than I have for a long time. Being able to get my thoughts and feelings down on the screen has allowed me to transfer everything from my brain like backing up a hard drive.

It has got to the point where I want to put everything down, but I realise that most of this would be nonsense and not what most people want to read. I have also been trying to do less work at weekends when my daughter is at home.

One of the things that I noticed was that I would be writing and my daughter would want to show me something or play with her on the computer. This is exactly what parents want, but I was so engrossed in my writing that I would say those immortal words, ‘I will play later’.

I felt myself cringe as soon as I said it, this was something I had always said I wouldn’t say. We all get busy and we don’t always have time to play games with our children, but to do so just because of a blog doesn’t seem right to me.

So I have made a concerted effort to write during the week day so that I can devote more time to one of the most important people in my life.

They say that you never get this time again, so I am determined to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

