John McAfee offers to unlock killer’s iPhone for FBI – BBC News

23295

I read this article on the BBC News website and I have to admit I am divided on my opinion.

On the one hand, Apple are right that they shouldn’t create a ‘back door’ to their products just because the FBI says so. The government must be accountable to the information they obtain and how they obtain it. If Apple agree, they could theoretically access any iPhone for any reason they think is reasonable.

I am sure that given time and the current technology, it is completely possible for someone to get into the iPhone. I am sure the FBI has people who can do it, but they want to set a precedent by forcing Apple to do it for them.

My only concern is that if there is valuable information on that device that could possibly stop another 9/11, then I wonder how Apple would feel if it happened and they could have prevented it.

Leave a Reply

