My Yoga and Meditation Experiment

102545951_yoga_377x171

In my journey through anxiety and OCD, I have always tried to keep an open mind about what would work for me. This is with the exception of medication, which I always thought would make things worse. I have since learned that medication can and does help, but I don’t want to be reliant on it forever.

I have read many articles and blogs about how Yoga and Meditation can help to deal with anxiety and relax you. I have tried audio CD’s that talk you through a mediation, but I it didn’t really have much of an effect on me. I am hoping that meditation together with Yoga will give me the tools I need to beat my shadow once and for all.

I am going to use my blog to record my progress and hopefully this will encourage others to give it a chance. I also want to start a vlog for my experiences and techniques, but I am not sure I have the confidence to do this, hopefully I will.

I am going to find a good and basic Yoga demonstration video to get me started, which I will review for you as well.

This may not work for me, but if it does, it may not for everyone. What I want is to give people hope and an understanding that you should try anything to defeat those demons.

3 thoughts on “My Yoga and Meditation Experiment

  1. I’ve experienced anxiety since childhood, manifesting itself in different forms over the years. It’s wonderful that you’re starting yoga. I have recently as well. I hope you’re able to cut back on you’re medication as you plan too; I’ve never had success with that. I’d rather be on them until I die and living a healthy, happy life. In an ideal world, of course, I wouldn’t need them. Good luck to you!

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comment, I can definitely understand why you want to remain on medication. I battled against my anxiety for years until I admitted that I needed more than just CBT to help me. I am hoping that the yoga will help, or at least get me fitter. Good luck with your yoga!

    Like

  3. I will be interested to see if yoga I helpful. Like you, I experience anxiety. I think it’s the way I’m wired, and I tend to fixate on things so I have OCD tendencies. I’m an antidepressant for the anxiety, and I would like to come off of it one day. I have tried yoga before and it bores me, but I did feel different after doing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

