Coffee Pods and Chocolate instead of a Nightclub

LIONEL DERIAZ , ALL USES , ALL USES , WORLDWIDE , ALL

When I saw this piece on the BBC News website, I was a little surprised. Apparently, the Office for National Statistics (I always worry that they need a whole office for this), has said that consumers are not going to clubs that charge an entry fee as much as they used to. Now instead, we are buying coffee pods and chocolate.

I have to say that I was never big on the clubbing scene even when I was younger. This could have been because I was a bit dorky looking and couldn’t dance to save my life. All of my friends though always looked forward to a night out at the local meat market to see how drunk they could get.

The dorky part of me thought it was a bit of a waste, the anxiety part thought I would catch something and the dancer part just said ‘hell to the no’. Looking back, I think it was the right decision for me, and with prices of alcohol rising all the time, I can understand why people don’t want to go out to a club now.

Apparently, sales of rewritable DVD’s have also gone down. Maybe we are entering a new world where people are streaming entertainment instead of using a DVD and having parties at home instead of clubbing..wait we are!

I hope they are better than the ones I used to go to where everyone just stood around supping on their drinks trying to look cool. I was never going to achieve cool, so I used to just sit and contemplate where the nearest emergency exit would be if someone spontaneously threw up. I would wait for what I thought was a reasonably long time and make my excuses.

As you can see, I lived the high life when I was young.

2 thoughts on “Coffee Pods and Chocolate instead of a Nightclub

  1. Nice entry. Remember, like everything else, the popularity of going to clubs goes up and down over the years – the more things change the more they stay the same. Been there.

    Like

  2. An interesting read- thanks for sharing! Would really appreciate it if you would take a look at my most recent post as i could do with some advice! Many thanks – it is kind of, not really but kind of on the same topic!! beth x

    Like

Leave a Reply

