London Calling

A predictable title I know, but I like that song. Today I went with my wife and daughter to spend the day in London.

IMG_20160319_085624

We travelled up by car to Greenwich and took the Underground from there. We have always found that this is actually cheaper than travelling by train. It also means that for the vast majority of the trip, we are in our own car as opposed to a train full of people.

We took a nearly empty tube to Leicester Square to visit somewhere my daughter has wanted to go for a long time – M&M World! I know it is an overpriced tourist attraction at best, but this is a special treat for all of us.

IMG_20160319_122035

We spent a very long time in there, looking at all manner of souvenirs. Almost anything you can imagine has been branded by the little chocolate characters, even underwear!

We then had a nice distraction from a street entertainer who was teaching three very embarrassed kids how to dance. We then decided to go for lunch and the only thing we could all agree on was T.G.I Fridays.

We had a lovely meal in there although it was packed to the rafters. The menu had everything my daughter liked and there was even a nice choice for us.

IMG_20160319_151106

We then made our way to the British Museum, this was another choice of my daughters as she loved Egypt and Mummies. She was amazed by the collection of mummified relics that were on display and she was also fascinated by the many items adorned with hieroglyphics. This place had been a regular haunt for me in my youth and it was nice to take my daughter to see it.

IMG_20160319_152212

It was then time for the journey home and with tired legs and hungry bellies again, that we staggered into the house.

It was a lovely family day that I am eager to repeat soon.

2 thoughts on “London Calling

Leave a Reply

