Don’t Worry, Be Happy

dontworry.jpg

This is something I have been trying to tell myself over the last 24 hours, although I fear it isn’t working.

I knew I was pushing my luck when I watched Friday the 13th on Friday. I thought it would be a cool thing to do and even though I enjoyed seeing the film for the first time in 30 years, I think it brought bad luck.

Yesterday my wife came down with a bug that meant she was sick all last night. I was my usual unhelpful self in these situations and my anxiety was on high alert all night. I am of course concerned for my wife and I always feel so selfish, but it is an very powerful urge to run that always grips me.

I have fortunately been able to distract myself by doing the housework today, but it will be a challenging next couple of days as my anxiety eventually subsides. I wasn’t as bad as I thought I would be, probably due to my meds, so that is another positive to come from the day.

My daughter and her friends also used the pool this morning. This despite my argument that at 15 degrees, is was a tad too cold to be swimming. They were adamant in their desire, and brave in their spirit, for all of five minutes!

3 thoughts on “Don’t Worry, Be Happy

  1. Aaa, yes, my initial thought when I saw this was: I doubt there’s any causation between the two (the bad luck and the movie) but I don’t want to be reassuring you. I suppose we can settle for that never quite good enough, it’s possible there’s a link. Let’s just sit with that uncomfortable-ness.

    Sorry, I can’t resist any time I come across anxiety that sounds like OCD posts. Possibly a guilty pleasure of mine… Anywho, I hope your wife feels better soon! And I hope you get through your anxiety waves shortly, they will pass after all. OCD/anxiety is a real bitch, huh?

    Hope your day keeps budding positives! ^^ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

