My Anxious Shadow

myanxioushadow

You should be thankful, I keep you safe,

I’m the one who stops you acting in haste,

For many years my watchful eye,

Has ensured dangerous things pass you by,

 

Without me, you would be dead,

Have a broken arm or a severed leg,

You can’t imagine all the ways,

I have kept you safe all these days,

 

Those burger vans you often spy,

At football grounds and want to try,

But I stop you dead, in your tracks,

And give you a few sobering facts.

 

What if its dirty? Have they washed their hands?

You never know what goes on inside those vans.

Better be safe, you don’t want to be sick,

Go to McDonalds, that’s safer and quick.

 

And what about those busses and trains?

Rife with colds and flu of various strains.

Not to mention the sickness bug that’s going around,

I heard someone talking about it while we were in town.

 

No-where is safe, no-where is clean,

I’m not doing this to be nasty, selfish or mean.

I know that I make you feel anxious and tense,

But really what I’m doing just makes sense.

 

By keeping you away from people and places,

And steering you clear of snotty nosed faces.

I’m protecting you, don’t listen to your wife,

Be honest, who needs a social life.

 

You don’t have to worry, there’s no need to fear,

For the rest of your life, I will always be near.

The little voice in your head that tells you to stop,

To wash your hands, or grab a mop.

 

You should be thankful, I keep you safe,

I’m the one who stops you acting in haste.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

