A Break in the Sun Part 3 -Water Slides and Hot Pavements

DSC_0243.JPG

If you have read part 1 and part 2 of my holiday adventures then you will know that a lot has happened in the first few days.

Our next adventure took us to the Aquaopolis water park, just outside Denia. The sheer scale of the park isn’t obvious from the outside, but when you get through the gates, to see a sprawling outdoor park with water slides and swimming pools.

There were water rides for all ages and small fountain play areas for the youngest children.

After bracing the initial dip in the kids pool, I decided to attempt something a little more daring. This came in the form of a three slide ride called the ‘Race’. The three different slides take different routes down through the mountainside.

My daughter, wife and I took our places at the top of the water slides, not sure what to expect. When the marshall gave us the all clear, we began our decent into the unknown.

My slide seemed fairly sedate at first, a gentle twist and turn through the trees, then there was the tunnel. As I entered the black void, I felt a sense of trepidation that was soon to be validated as I felt the slide drop below me. The near vertical drop ends with the finish of the slide, so everyone waiting at the bottom would have seen a very scared 40 something hurtling out of the tunnel.

Before braving another slide, we decided to take a break in the hut that our friends had rented for the day. This was a very welcome shelter from the beating sun and heat. It was also a great place to have our lunch, which was a wonderful picnic with bread, cold meats and nuts.

My next opponent was the very fast blue slide. The three of us again decided to climb the steep hill to where many of the slides begin. By this time, the sun had really warmed the ground and out feet were getting very hot. We were searching for any available ground that was still in shade.

Now my problem with the blue slide, was that my feet didn’t realise they had to go first. As I descended the slide at a far greater speed than I was happy with, my head started to overtake my feet. This resulted in my head hitting the bottom of the slide and skimming along the water like a stone.

That was the last of my big slides for the day, but my wife and daughter tackled a couple more before the day was out.

The day ended with my daughter and I in the pool during the wave machine which was great fun. It was a fantastic day at a place that could only have worked in a hot country. It was like a theme park mixed with a swimming pool – awesome!

Leave a Reply

