A Letter to Anxiety – Thinking

 

LettertoAnxiety1

Dear Anxiety,

I was thinking about you last night, which is strange really. I spend all my time trying to not think about you when you are around and then when you aren’t, I think about you.

It is like that really annoying friend that you don’t really want to see, but you wonder what they are doing when they aren’t there. Is that how you are to me? Are you like an annoying friend? Would I almost miss you if you weren’t around?

My head would say NO!, but you have been around longer than many others things have. If there is one thing I can rely on, it’s that you will turn up sooner or later. I was thinking last night about how I can deal with you, how I can send you away for good. Then I thought about sending you a letter.

Is that odd? probably, would it help? I hope so. I have tried to keep my mind in the now instead of worrying about the future. The problem is that you give me things to worry about in the now as well as the future.

Like any friend who is not good for you, I have to distance myself from them and move on. I know that you will try to convince me otherwise, because you always do, but I have to do it.

I wonder how much time I spend trying to get rid of you? Just think of all that time I would have if I didn’t have to concerntrate on you. All those things I could do if you weren’t there to stop me. All the places I could go and people I could meet.

I hope I don’t see you soon.

Steven

Leave a Reply

